S.S.C. Napoli Fan Page


Societa'  Sportiva Calcio Napoli, commonly referred to as Napoli, is a professional Italian football club based in Naples and founded in 1926 (refounded in 2004).

The club has spent most of its history in Serie A, where it currently plays its 2012-13 season. Napoli has won Serie A twice, in 1986-87 and 1989-90.[1] They have also won the Italian Cup four times and the Italian Super Cup, and on the European stage have won the UEFA Cup in 1988-89.

Napoli is also the most successful club in Southern Italy and the fourth most supported football club in Italy.

The club has had several name changes since first appearing in 1926; the most important of these was in 1964, when it was changed from Associazione Calcio Napoli to Societa'  Sportiva Calcio Napoli.

The most recent change was in 2004, when the club went bankruptbut was refounded by film producer Aurelio De Laurentiis as Napoli Soccer; he restored the name to Societa'  Sportiva Calcio Napoli two years later.

The bankruptcy of the club in 2004 had seen it placed in the third division of Italian football (Serie C1), but progress of the reformed club was swift and after just three years it returned to Serie A.